Who is the current heavyweight champion? WBA, WBO, WBC, IBF and The Ring title holders

Anthony Joshua will defend his WBA (super), IBF, WBO and IBO heavyweight titles on Saturday against Oleksandr Usyk at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London, England.

Joshua, who won three of his four belts against Wladimir Klitschko in April 2017, will make his third consecutive title defense after momentarily losing his belts to Andy Ruiz Jr. in December 2019. He defeated Ruiz in a rematch, then struck at Kubrat Pulev in December 2020.

MORE: Betting Preview For Joshua-Usyk

Usyk, who was previously the undisputed cruiserweight champion, will make his third heavyweight appearance, in which he is ranked as the No.4 fighter behind Tyson Fury, Joshua and Deontay Wilder on ESPN. He beat Chazz Witherspoon by referee’s technical decision in October 2019, then Derek Chisora ​​by unanimous decision in October 2020.

The winner of Saturday’s fight will likely show up to face the winner of Fury and Wilder on October 9. Joshua and Fury have signed a two-fight deal to unify their heavyweight titles – Fury is WBC magazine and The Ring – although things may change depending on the outcome of their respective upcoming fight.

The heavyweight division hasn’t had an undisputed champion since Lennox Lewis in 2000, so Joshua and Fury’s results will have big implications for the history of the sport. Here’s a look at every title Fury and Joshua hold by every governing body.


World Boxing Association – Anthony Joshua

Getty Images

Joshua won the World Boxing Association (super) title on April 29, 2017, after defeating Klitschko by KO in the 11th round and regaining the belt after beating Ruiz in a rematch.

The WBA has been around since 1921 and was known as the National Boxing Association until August 23, 1962. The WBA can have up to four world champions in any weight division, although Joshua holds the highest distinction. important with the super title.

MORE: How To Watch Joshua-Usyk

American boxer Trevor Bryan is currently recognized as the division’s world champion, while Syrian Mahmoud Charr is the recess champion.

World Boxing Council – Tyson Fury

Getty Images

Fury became the WBC Champion on February 22, 2020 by beating Wilder, who previously held the belt since January 2015.

Fury has yet to defend his title, as his third fight with Wilder in July was postponed after his camp suffered an outbreak of COVID-19. Fury became the third heavyweight to win the title in the past seven years, as Bermane Stiverne was recognized as the division champion from 2014 to 2015.

The WBC was formed in 1963 and its green belt represents the 161 flags of the countries that represent the sanctioning body. Briton Dillian Whyte is recognized as the interim heavyweight champion and is the immediate challenger to the winner of Fury and Wilder.

Fury has previously said that if he defeats Wilder, he would like to fight Whyte in December.

MORE: Fury Plans His Next Five Fights

World Boxing Organization – Anthony Joshua

Getty Images

Joshua won the World Boxing Organization title in March 2018 against Joseph Parker and recovered it after his rematch with Ruiz.

The WBO, which was formed in 1988, was recognized as one of the top four world championship groups by the International Boxing Hall of Fame along with the WBA, WBC and IBF in 2004.

The WBO recognizes “super” champions, in which a boxer has held a multiple-fight contract with a major TV station for several years and has defended his title cumulatively on 10 limits or against high-recognition opponents, among others. criteria. Joshua was called a super champion with Klitschko, while Usyk was recognized at cruiserweight.

International Boxing Federation – Anthony Joshua

Joshua first won the International Boxing Federation title in April 2016 against Charles Martin and has held the belt for the longest time in his current championships.

The IBF, which was predeceased by the United States Boxing Association, has had seven champions since 2002: Lennox Lewis; Chris Byrd; Klitschko; Fury; Charles Martin; Ruiz; and Joshua.

The Ring Magazine – Tyson Fury

Getty Images

The Ring is an early boxing magazine that began publication in 1922, when it also began to give each division a linear title.

Fury won the vacant title of The Ring in his second fight against Wilder. He had already won it with his unanimous decision victory over Klitschko in November 2015, but was stripped in January 2018 due to his inactivity.

The Ring’s initial policy was to award a championship based on linear rule, or “the man who beat the man.” Now, the position can be filled if contenders # 1 and # 2 go head-to-head, or if a champion can lose their belt under one of the following seven conditions:

  • The champion loses a fight in the weight class in which he is champion.
  • The champion moves to another weight class.
  • The champion does not schedule a bout in any weight class for 18 months.
  • The champion does not schedule a bout at his championship weight for 18 months (even if he fights at another weight).
  • The champion does not schedule a bout with one of the top five contestants in any weight class for two years.
  • The champion retires.
  • The champion tests positive for a performance enhancing substance and is sentenced to a fine, suspension or other sanction by the competent authority (sports commission or sanctioning body).

Other belts and former undisputed champions

Joshua’s International Boxing Organization belt will also be at stake, although it is considered a “minor” championship as it is not recognized as one of the “big four” governing bodies.

If Joshua, Wilder, Fury or Usyk come together to unify the world titles of all the major sanctioning organizations, the heavyweight division will have its first undisputed champion since Lennox Lewis in 2000. The division has yet to have a champion. undisputed title in the four belts. time.

Here is a list of the undisputed heavyweight champions in boxing history, from the years of the New York State Athletic Commission and the National Boxing Association to the present era.

Time Champion Appointment
NYSAC-NBA Jack dempsey July 24, 1922 to September 23, 1926
NYSAC-NBA Gene Tunney September 23, 1926 to July 31, 1928
NYSAC-NBA Max Schmeling June 12, 1930 to January 7, 1931
NYSAC-NBA Jack sharkey June 21, 1932 to June 29, 1933
NYSAC-NBA Primo Carnera June 29, 1933 to June 14, 1934
NYSAC-NBA Max Baer June 14, 1934 to June 13, 1935
NYSAC-NBA James J. Braddock June 13, 1935 to June 22, 1937
NYSAC-NBA Joe louis June 22, 1937 to March 1, 1949
NYSAC-NBA Ezzard Charles Sep 27, 1950 to July 18, 1951
NYSAC-NBA Joe Walcott Jersey July 18, 1951 to September 23, 1952
NYSAC-NBA Rocky marciano September 23, 1952 to April 27, 1956
NYSAC-NBA Floyd Patterson Nov 30, 1956 to June 26, 1959
NYSAC-NBA Ingemar johansson June 26, 1959 to June 20, 1960
NYSAC-NBA Floyd Patterson June 20, 1960 to September 25, 1962
NYSAC-NBA Sonny liston Sep 25, 1962 to July 22, 1963
WBC-WBA Sonny liston July 22, 1963 to February 25, 1964
WBC-WBA Mohamed Ali February 25, 1964 to September 19, 1964
WBA-WBA Mohamed Ali February 6, 1967 to April 28, 1967
WBC-WBA Joe frazier February 16, 170 to January 22, 1973
WBC-WBA Georges foreman January 22, 1973 to October 30, 1974
WBC-WBA Mohamed Ali Oct. 30, 1974 to Feb. 15 1978
WBC-WBA Leon Spinks February 15, 1978 to March 18, 1978
WBC-WBA-IBF Mike Tyson August 1, 1987 to February 11, 1990
WBC-WBA-IBF James “Buster” Douglas February 11, 1990 to October 25, 1990
WBC-WBA-IBF Evander Holyfield October 25, 1990 to November 13, 1992
WBC-WBA-IBF Riddick bowe November 13, 1992 to December 14, 1992
WBC-WBA-IBF Lennox lewis November 13, 1999 to April 29, 2000